Wireless Access?

Get help and insight.
RonRock
Bot?: No

Wireless Access?

Post by RonRock »

Hello all. BCS noob here. My son tells me I have a package in the mail. That would be my BCS, I'll have to wait until tomorrow when I get home to play.

Anyway, one thing I'd like to figure out is how to make it wireless. I see the previous post about wireless but it leans toward an Airport. I'm a PC. Has anybody used a Linksys WRT 54G as an Access Point? Any suggestions on an inexpensive Wireless Access Point box?

Obviously looking forward to learning how to use the BCS-460.

Ron

One more question. How many BCS's are out there?
RonRock

Re: Wireless Access?

Post by RonRock »

Never mind, found another thread with a bit more info on WAP's. So unless anyone has any more info, I'll just say hello.

Ron
RonRock

Post by RonRock »

It's just too damn cool! I received my BCS, connected the tempprobe and of course it works. I spent a good deal of time yesterday muddiling my way through loading DD-WRT firmware onto an old Linksys WRT54G to make it an Access Point. My first effort at that and I didn't want to "Brick" it. In the end it worked without a hitch. Connected the 54G to my LAN did some configuring, connected the BCS, and Whamoo I now have wireless control of my BCS. Cool.

Just thought I'd put it out there if anyone else wants to do the same. Not that hard, just takes some time figuring out the configuration of the AP. Now I have to figure out how to make everything "Static" so that the AP can be unplugged and reconnected and still easily found on my LAN. That's next.
BCS Portland

Post by BCS Portland »

Congrats on getting it working so quick. Finally got mine wireless and started to brew, one minute into the process it dropped out and I never got it back up. Had to bring the network down and plug back in. Turns out for me a 25ft network cable is easier, although a bit ego deflating.
RonRock

Post by RonRock »