BCS Programming Help - elements not turning off

Get help and insight.
mellman
Bot?: No

BCS Programming Help - elements not turning off

Post by mellman »

Hi everyone.

So I'm new to the BCS, running the latest 4.0.1 code. I thought the programming would be easy for me, but I'm having problems doing a simple process to heat my HLT.

My panel is wired up, using 3 way switches for my elements Auto / Off / On. On and Off work as expected. Auto isn't working how I thought it should.

I've setup a process for heating, but it never seems to stop heating, just keeps on going like it's in 100% Duty Cycle mode.

State 0 just waits for me to hit a button to signal that i'm ready to go, and that the elements are submerged in water. Pushing the Button works, it enters state 1, elements start to fire.
State 1 I set to control my two outputs, in PID mode, with a setpoint, say 100* F. I was assuming that in PID mode, the BCS would see that the probe is at 100, and turn the elements off, but this isn't happening.

I then tried manual mode, clicking the two outputs for my elements, they fire up. clicking the button again the green light goes off on the BCS, but the light on my panel tells me the elements still are getting 220. If i flip the switch to off, then back to Auto, the element stops firing and remains off.

I'm guessing that the problem is, somehow the relay is still getting 5V - but my question is how/why?
JonW
Site Admin

Re: BCS Programming Help - elements not turning off

Post by JonW »

Your assumption on the 5V feed still being present would be my guess also, but without seeing your wiring of the switches and relays, there's no way to confirm this.
mellman

Post by mellman »

I've reached out to Derrin at BH - seems the outputs on the BCS are never actually turning off.
JonW
Site Admin

Post by JonW »

That's definitely not normal behavior. If the BCS is at fault, then the output driver is likely toast. This can happen from over-driving the outputs.