Building a 220v System

Get help and insight.
yarz78
Bot?: No

Building a 220v System

Post by yarz78 »

I've sent this request to the tech support email address, but received a mailbox full error, so I'm turning to the blogosphere for help...

I'm an amateur home brewer looking to update my stove-top system to an all electric system with a BCS-460 at its center. However, I live in Germany right now and only have access to 220v from the wall. Does anyone know if the BCS-460 will run on 220 and where I can get wiring diagrams for a 220v only system? I've looked on the Brewers Hardware and ebrewsupply websites, but only found kits and plans for 110 systems that can power 220 elements.

Thanks!
oakbarn

Re: Building a 220v System

Post by oakbarn »

I have an HLT that is 220 controlled by the BCS. I use anElectricsl Contactor for the 220 controlled by an Ssr. The Electicsl Contactor is activated by 24 vac. The BCS controls the Ssr
brahn

Post by brahn »

I think it should work fine as long as you had an appropriate DC adapter to power the BCS itself.

The specs are:

6vdc / 1 amp / 1.3mm center positive coax
oakbarn

Post by oakbarn »

Just looked at the BCS power supply and it is 110 v only so you may fry it with 220. Many power supplies are dual voltage but this one does not list it. You can also use a real transformer like this:

http://www.220-electronics.com/1000-wat ... wAodyFMKlw

I have tried to use the cheap converters with computers and not have much success as they burn out quickly, I used a transformer like the one above to power appliances so something like the BCS Power supply would be nothing,
oakbarn

Post by oakbarn »

The Model: International THG-200 on this site would work as well and a lot less $$
yarz78

Post by yarz78 »

Great info, thanks! I have a transformer already, so whatever I build, I'll make sure it is incorporated for the BCS-460.
Andy Dean

Post by Andy Dean »

It works just fine on 220v