Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Get help and insight.
Post Reply
Jcc4507fly
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:43 pm
Bot?: No

Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by Jcc4507fly » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:00 am

I was in the process of updating BCS-462 from 4.0.0 to 4.0.1. I followed all instructions from the update thread. Everything seemed to be going great until end of update when the BCS restarted and since could not find it since. The BCS is normally connected via ethernet to a bridge router. The router has a DHCP reservation for the BCS, (192.168.0.10) I have had no problems with finding my bcs in the past. I have tried looking on connected devices within my router, also tried network scanners, i.e. fing. I have tried searching via BCS finder for 4.0. I have tried to hard reset multiple times. holding button for 15, 20, 30, even 60 secs to no avail.
Currently I have the BCS plugged directly into a newly configured router with my computer also connected to the router. My phone and computer are able to be assigned an ip within the DHCP window from this router. The bcs is NO WHERE to be found. I have tried browsing every ip address on this network. (192.168.0.1-192.168.0.254) I have tried reconfiguring my router to 169.254.0.xxx and then connecting bcs and trying to go to its default of 169.254.0.63, nada.
After a 15sec hard reset what version of firmware will the bcs revert? I ask because I was on 4.0.0 and I have been trying to use bcs finder for 4.0. Will the BCS revert back to an earlier version? If so where can I find the BCS finder for 3.x? The wiki for BCS appears to be dead. :/

Jcc4507fly
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:43 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by Jcc4507fly » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:12 am

Also the orange light is steady and the green light is flashing randomly. Not sure if that helps.

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 677
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by oakbarn » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:07 pm

Jcc4507fly wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:12 am
Also the orange light is steady and the green light is flashing randomly. Not sure if that helps.
That means that the BCS is physically "connected" to the Router and is normal. In fact, it would be an issue if the lights were not that way.

jward
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by jward » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:30 pm

I would check the router logs to see what address it picked up. Yes, it should have been given the reservation you set but I would check the dhcp log.

Jcc4507fly
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:43 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by Jcc4507fly » Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:01 am

Its not listed in the logs I already checked. I checked from 192.168.0.2-192.168.0.254, its not connected. I spoke with BH and I had already tried everything they recommended. They said it needed to be reflashed....

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by JonW » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:30 am

It's pretty rare that a unit needs to be physically flashed to fix it, so my guess would be to suspect file corruption with the image file you are using.

Jcc4507fly
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:43 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by Jcc4507fly » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:37 am

So how could I tell if the file was corrupted or not? I downloaded from link on sticky page. Then if that was the case how would I be able to reflash BCS myself with a good copy of firmware? I could not get 15sec reset to work.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by JonW » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:02 am

Like I said, my guess is that it is a corrupt file. If everything else is proper, there's not a lot of reasons that this would happen.

Just an FYI on the resets you're doing - 4.0 and up only have a reset to default when you press and hold the reset button. There is no auto-config IP address or static settings, only the default to DHCP.

Jcc4507fly
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:43 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by Jcc4507fly » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:29 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but the router that the BCS is directly plugged into has a DHCP reservation for the BCS's MAC address. So, the router should only assign the BCS that ip address. Which is 192.168.0.10.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1474
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to BCS updating 4.0.0 to 4.0.1

Post by JonW » Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:36 pm

Correct, and after the firmware upgrade, it should have come right back on that same IP address.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest