My version of the HMI builder

Applications that run on PC/Mac.
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by oakbarn » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:27 am

punk_rock wrote:
Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:44 pm
bbrally wrote:
Tue Aug 15, 2017 4:27 pm
If this is a valve you manually turn on/off, then the only way currently, would be to assign it an output your system is currently not using and program that output to reflect the change you want.
I did use my last available output for my manual valves. I wish I would have bought the 462. It might be time to upgrade.

Thanks for the reply!
I do not even have enough outs on the 462! I do use one for valves but I have a solid manifold that is kept in place. There are a lot of valves. I am not in front of it but I think I have 23 valves. I also have 9 Temperature Probes so I switch the wire (M12 Disconnect) between 2 probes (one in Mash and then switch to Cooling Water when I am transferring to Fermentor.

Timbrew
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:40 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Kent, UK

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by Timbrew » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:55 pm

Bbrally - thanks for all your hard your work on this GUI which is fantastic. I picked up on this just a few days ago and have since been using your http://bbrally.altervista.org/guibeta/index.html site to draw up a nice canvas for my HERMS brewery (BCS462) here in England. I'm really pleased with the result - it brings my system to life and is great for demos and showing brew club folks how the whole thing works - so thanks again. I did a wet run using a CIP cleaning process and everything worked fine.

As you've asked for feed back, I hope this is useful. The only funtionality 'issue' (if you can call it that) I had was with the DINs. I use SS (Chinese / on or off) floats in my HLT and BK. In the former I have two - an adjustable (for 5 or 10 galls processes) and tank full float - FYI I use the volume between floats to adjust parameters like mash and sparge volumes. In the BK, I also have an adjustable float (variable for either 5 or 10 galls), to prevent overflows and for post-boil top-up; the BK also has a lower float to prevent the elec heater element firing when the levels are low. OK that's the boring bit....

....so I used your site's Text objects to represent each of these 4 floats in position, allocated respective DIN numbers and labels to each so they would change from green (Float OFF) to red (Float ON).

Although the process went well (btw I'm loving the direct clickable control of the output objects) and the floats all performed their duties perfectly for Exit Conditions, their text / colour didn't change. The screen read-outs in fact didn't represent the floats' actual positions. In fact some strange things were happening - like if I clicked the heater element the float value would flip from green/off to red/on or vice versa - apparently the heater 'on' command was driving the change. Manually flipping the floats up and down made no difference (except when I clicked on the heater which as I mentioned, seemed to trip the change).

I ran out of time in trying to reproduce these issues; I also thought it might be something that you were already aware of... Anyhow, a key point is that the brew process is now so much more fun :) Thanks again.

Timbrew
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:40 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Kent, UK

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by Timbrew » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:06 pm

This is a screen shot of my canvas.
Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 21.59.12.png
Screen Shot 2018-02-14 at 21.59.12.png (167.27 KiB) Viewed 31 times

User avatar
bbrally
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:59 am
Bot?: No
Location: Vancouver, BC or NST, Thailand
Contact:

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by bbrally » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:23 pm

I'm glad you found the program useful. I wasn't aware of any problems with the dins, and I'm away from my computer for another week. I'll look into it when I get back home. Thanks for the feedback.
Move, copy, clear processes/states: http://manipulator.from-ca.com/
Perform coefficient mods: http://calculator.from-ca.com/
HMI Builder: http://bbrally.altervista.org/GUI/index.html
HMI Builder latest ver: http://bbrally.altervista.org/guibeta/index.html

Timbrew
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 2:40 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Kent, UK

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by Timbrew » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:25 am

Thanks a lot. In case you need it, here's the link to my canvas - let me know if this doesn't work.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cgT_4e ... sp=sharing

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: My version of the HMI builder

Post by oakbarn » Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:44 am

I was having an issue with a DIN and I thought it was me as it had worked fine before. I redid all mine and I was having trouble with the DiIN as well. Did not report as I thought it was as me. I am away as well and cannot test any fix

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest