Barbeque Temp Probes.

Discussion of the physical aspects
Post Reply
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:33 pm

I want to run some probes to my grill. Will something like this work?

https://www.auberins.com/index.php?main ... cts_id=679

I have only ever purchased the ones from Brewers hardware but they will not work for sticking in meat.

Jeff

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW » Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:26 pm

The BCS uses "thermistor" type temperature probes. The one you linked is a "thermocouple" type. They are incompatible.

brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:34 am


User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:35 am

They look like they should. I may get one and try it out myself with my smoker.

brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:48 pm

Well I will give it a go and see if they work. I have a Kamado and my idea was to run a cat5 and run three probes for two meats and the grill. I have a fan that can control the oxygen.... So I figured why not control my smoke day like my brew day :)

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW » Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:54 pm

Great minds think alike! I have a Bradley smoker that I use my BCS with. The original controller in the smoker fried so I added a couple of SSR's inside the box and put an RJ45 jack on the back and just run a CAT5 cable outside to it when I smoke. I have so much more control over it than when it was original.

BREWMASON
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:40 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by BREWMASON » Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:07 pm

You would need to program the coefficients with different thermistors / temp probes like these correct??

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW » Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:09 pm

BREWMASON wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:07 pm
You would need to program the coefficients with different thermistors / temp probes like these correct??
Correct.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests