Wiring help- mortorized ball valves

Discussion of the physical aspects
BrooklynBrew
Bot?: No

Wiring help- mortorized ball valves

Post by BrooklynBrew »

Hi Everyone,

I'm hoping some of you could provide help in wiring up some new ball valves I got from OSCSYS. I'm still quite new to electronics and trying to wrap my head around all of this. I searched all over the forum and the internet but couldn't find too much info that's specific to what I'm doing since I'm using a different relay board.

I already have the BCS462 and it's currently just controlling a pump and temp probes. I've attached a PDF of a wiring diagram with all of the parts I have but I feel like I'm way off. If some of the more experienced members out there could take a look that would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Sean

PS the PDF attachment keeps putting a black box around the picture of the BCS but is not part of the wiring
Attachments
BallValves2.pdf
(252.49 KiB) Downloaded 425 times
JonW
Site Admin

Re: Wiring help- mortorized ball valves

Post by JonW »

No, you definitely don't want to wire it like you have it!!

The way you have it setup, you are using two outputs to control one valve. Not only is it a waste of outputs, but you run the risk of turning on both outputs at the same time and powering both inputs of the valve - not something you want to do.

If you use the relay board that was suggested or use any generic SPDT relay, you can use one output to trigger the relay and it can provide power to the close circuit or open circuit of the valve as needed.

Here are a few posts discussing setting up the valves - there are more posts buried in the forum:
http://forum.embeddedcc.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2366
http://forum.embeddedcc.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=489
JonW
Site Admin

Post by JonW »

BrooklynBrew wrote:I've attached a PDF of a wiring diagram with all of the parts I have but I feel like I'm way off.