4-wire temp probe (or other long-cable solutiion)

Discussion of the physical aspects
Post Reply
zakleeright
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:59 am
Bot?: No

4-wire temp probe (or other long-cable solutiion)

Post by zakleeright »

I want ~40' leads to temp probe. The "4-wire" method of wiring RTD sensors accomplishes this, w/no loss of accuracy.
Can I use this method with the BCS?
Are there better/faster/stronger solutions?
danke
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: 4-wire temp probe (or other long-cable solutiion)

Post by JonW »

As long as you attach your BCS ground terminal to the AC ground, you'll have no issues. If you don't do that, you'll see fluctuations.
zakleeright
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:59 am
Bot?: No

Re: 4-wire temp probe (or other long-cable solutiion)

Post by zakleeright »

Doh!
Dumb post. I ceded my brew room to a wayward teen for nearly a year, so been out of it for a while.
I somehow got it in my head that the BCS used RTD-type temp probes, but indeed it uses thermistors - less accurate than RTD, but allegedly more tolerant of longer cable runs.
I'll run my long cable using Cat6e, staying away from power runs, cross them at 90 angle where unavoidable, ensure good grounding, calibrate the probe, and see what happens.

Thanks!
Post Reply