Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Discussion of the physical aspects
Post Reply
BDBrewer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:45 pm
Bot?: No

Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Post by BDBrewer »

Hi - new to this site and to electronic control systems in general - learning.

I have an old low pressure steam generator (Market Forge) that would profit by a better control system. One key is sensing the water level in a rather harsh environment - 220-240/10 psi.

To do that I was thinking perhaps I might use three conductivity sensors - a low, operating and high level sensor, with the system programmed to lock out if the low is not conducting (not sensing water), to fill to the high, and then to refill to high when the operating sensor did not conduct (does not sense water), and then shut off the input pump when the high senses conductivity from liquid water. The unit has a sight glass that would allow manual calibration. Building a manifold to hold the sensors is trivial.

After some web research, I located a probe that looks robust enough at Dwyer - http://www.dwyer-inst.com/Product/Level ... LP#related

Dwyer sells a related switch that indicates the conductivity probe operates at 100Kohms. http://www.dwyer-inst.com/PDF_files/T_20_TSWB.pdf

Will the probe work with the BCS to monitory conductivty as an on-off state, and then to control the necessary relays?

Or - is there a better way to do this?

Thanks - and sorry if this a dumb request - any thoughts or advice are much appreciated.

Best regards,

Jason
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Post by oakbarn »

I do not know these switches but the BCS can work with any On-Off type switch and control via Ladder Logic. You simply use an On-Off switch in a DIN Circuit.
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Post by JonW »

Like Oakbarn states, if it can provide an on/off closure, then you can use the inputs on the BCS to trigger actions. You might want to do a quick search on Ebay though for SS float switches. There are many there that are very inexpensive and will wire right into the BCS.
BDBrewer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:45 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Post by BDBrewer »

Thanks to you both - I'll check for a float valve - was thinking that non-moving sensor might be more robust in the long term! Like the idea, though!
BREWMASON
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:40 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Conductivity probe to sense water level?

Post by BREWMASON »

I have attached a float switch diagram image that was shared with me.


http://i1378.photobucket.com/albums/ah1 ... fxdwub.png
Post Reply