Liquid floats with automated valves

Discussion of the physical aspects
Post Reply
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Liquid floats with automated valves

Post by brewmasterorr »

I was going to install some floats to shut off valves but I cannot seem to figure it out. They are NO (normally open) floats that cut the circuit when it gets to the float. If I am thinking right I should have got NC (normally closed) so it does not send the power to the valve until the float is triggered. Anyone have any ideas how to wire up a NO float ?


Jeff
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Liquid floats with automated valves

Post by JonW »

Most of the floats can be flipped over to be NO or NC. However, you can do the logic in the BCS for either config. If you don't want to run it into the BCS and just want to wire it inline with the BCS 5V output to the valve, just flip the float over on the shaft to make it NC.
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Liquid floats with automated valves

Post by brewmasterorr »

Thanks Jon. I will try that... Didnt even think about flipping it. I will report back....
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Liquid floats with automated valves

Post by brewmasterorr »

Well that did it. Sometimes its the simplest things...
Post Reply