Barbeque Temp Probes.

Discussion of the physical aspects
Post Reply
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr »

I want to run some probes to my grill. Will something like this work?

https://www.auberins.com/index.php?main ... cts_id=679

I have only ever purchased the ones from Brewers hardware but they will not work for sticking in meat.

Jeff
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW »

The BCS uses "thermistor" type temperature probes. The one you linked is a "thermocouple" type. They are incompatible.
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr »

JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW »

They look like they should. I may get one and try it out myself with my smoker.
brewmasterorr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:00 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by brewmasterorr »

Well I will give it a go and see if they work. I have a Kamado and my idea was to run a cat5 and run three probes for two meats and the grill. I have a fan that can control the oxygen.... So I figured why not control my smoke day like my brew day :)
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW »

Great minds think alike! I have a Bradley smoker that I use my BCS with. The original controller in the smoker fried so I added a couple of SSR's inside the box and put an RJ45 jack on the back and just run a CAT5 cable outside to it when I smoke. I have so much more control over it than when it was original.
BREWMASON
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:40 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by BREWMASON »

You would need to program the coefficients with different thermistors / temp probes like these correct??
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1721
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Barbeque Temp Probes.

Post by JonW »

BREWMASON wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:07 pm
You would need to program the coefficients with different thermistors / temp probes like these correct??
Correct.
Post Reply