HMI Help

Using the HMI Builder and creating custom interfaces for the BCS.
eatmoshad
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:36 pm
Bot?: No

HMI Help

Post by eatmoshad » Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:46 pm

I am completely lost with the HMI Builder. Does anyone have step by step instructions on how to load an image/background image? I'm really sorry to ask this but I just updated from a previous version-this is completely new to me. Thank you in advance for any ones help.

User avatar
Broph
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:19 am
Bot?: No
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: HMI Help

Post by Broph » Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:18 am

You have to an online space that you can refer to the image. http://www.embeddedcontrolconcepts.com/ ... MI_Builder

If that is not available to you, you could follow the instructions at http://www.embeddedcontrolconcepts.com/ ... HMI_Images
Thomas Brophy
AleForce Homebrewery

eatmoshad
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:36 pm
Bot?: No

Re: HMI Help

Post by eatmoshad » Mon Oct 17, 2011 7:55 pm

I would like to use the default image since it is exactly what I have but I still can not get that to show up when I type in the address. I am a newbie-I know how to brew but I am still learning the BCS.

Default BCS Image
This is the default image that is shipped with the BCS. It is optimized for a 3-vessel system, and also includes a 4th vessel for a possible fermentation tank.

gbrewer
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:20 pm
Bot?: No
Contact:

Re: HMI Help

Post by gbrewer » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:03 pm

Eatmoshad,

The HMI is a fairly new and recent concept with the BCS460/462. There are a few people who have put together fairly nice looking HMI's but creating a custom HMI requires a certain amount of programming knowledge. If you scroll through the forums, you will see some notes and code from people who have created their own HMI.

I know this isn't helpful but there really isn't much written on how to program the HMI as of yet. It starts folks from a fairly intermediate level.

eatmoshad
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:36 pm
Bot?: No

Re: HMI Help

Post by eatmoshad » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:09 pm

Thank you Gbrewing,
I was using the older version, upgraded and Im lost! I wish I knew about programming but I don't. I will wait for further instructions once it becomes more popular. Thanks for the heads up.
Shane

User avatar
Broph
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:19 am
Bot?: No
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: HMI Help

Post by Broph » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:16 pm

What is your BCS' firmware version? It needs to be v.3.4 or greater for the HMI function to be available. You can find this out on the System Settings section. To customize the HMI you will also be using the System Settings section to configure your background and buttons.
Thomas Brophy
AleForce Homebrewery

eatmoshad
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:36 pm
Bot?: No

Re: HMI Help

Post by eatmoshad » Mon Oct 17, 2011 8:38 pm

I just upgraded to version V3.4.5, using the BCS-460
I've been reading about using html code for an image which I guess that is what is needed to upload an image. I tried photobucket, copied and pasted but I think it is to long as the instructions mentioned. I'm looking for a site to shorten the html code in order to use the default image.

User avatar
Broph
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:19 am
Bot?: No
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: HMI Help

Post by Broph » Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:02 am

Did you try the instructions on the "If that is not available to you, you could follow the instructions at http://www.embeddedcontrolconcepts.com/ ... HMI_Images" link above?
Thomas Brophy
AleForce Homebrewery

User avatar
ECC
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 12:29 pm
Bot?: No
Contact:

Re: HMI Help

Post by ECC » Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:44 am

Hi eatmoshad, welcome.

When you pull up the HMI Builder page with default settings, you don't see the image? It should look like this:
http://ecc.webhop.org:8081/hmi.html

Just to be clear, you don't need to do any programming to build an HMI (however the option exists for advanced users). Everything is drag and drop. You can specify a path to your own background image, but using the default image is even easier. If you want to use the default image, you don't need to upload anything. It already resides on the ECC website, and the path to the image should already be specified. If you've changed it, just change it back to this:
http://embeddedcc.com/hmi/dflt.png

So, assuming that you've already tried that (it was the default setting), and still weren't able to view the image.. Does the computer that you're using to access the BCS have internet access? It has to be able to pull the image off the web, i.e., it is not stored on the BCS itself. A great test on whether your computer can access the image is to past the image path directly into the browser address bar.

todd
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:03 am
Bot?: No
Location: Pig's Eye, MN

Re: HMI Help

Post by todd » Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:59 pm

I have a few questions on this also.

My computer is a laptop that I just use for brewing.

1) Can I store the background on it or do I have to put on photobucket?

2) How did you make the stock images?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest