Concerned about support

Suggestions, Problems, Availability, etc. Everything is up for discussion.
tcook
Bot?: No

Concerned about support

Post by tcook »

I've been using the BCS-462 for around 6 months, and I've been pretty impressed with its features and performance for a reasonable price. Recently, I've been having problems with the I2C outs driving a OSCSYS PID display not working, and have contacted ECC tech support and posted the question on the forum. Since Adam (ECC) sold the company, I don't think he's logged into to the forum for a number of months. Between him and JonW, they answered 90% of the support posts, and did a great job. Most of what I've learned I got from JonW posts! My question is a simple one (what should the output voltages on EXP0 and EXP1 be?), my follow up is just as simple (what do I do if I'm not getting the correct voltage?). I would expect most manufacturers would be able to answer this type of question in a quick amount of time. However, I have yet to receive any reply from an email I sent to tech@embeddedcc.com 2 days ago.
I don't think its unreasonable to expect a tech support response within a few hours to a day. Contrast my ECC experience with a recent interaction with OSCSYS: on a Friday nite at 7pm PST, I click on the Support Chat on the OSCSYS website. I know he's out in FLA, so I figured I'd get a message saying the chat is closed, and send an email. Wrong, Jeremiah was there, and we chatted about the PID display issue I was having for about 30 minutes. He helped me narrow my problems, and really made me feel that I was supported. I know that was probably an above average experience, but I've had similar support interactions with other electronics companies (ShopJimmy.com, alliedelec.com) so I don't think its out of the realm of expectations.
Am I off base here?
Backyard Brewer

Re: Concerned about support

Post by Backyard Brewer »