New Member Intro

Suggestions, Problems, Availability, etc. Everything is up for discussion.
mliptack
Bot?: No

New Member Intro

Post by mliptack »

Hello Everyone,

Wanted to take a moment to introduce myself, my name is Max and I live in Milwaukee, WI. I have been brewing for about 11 years now. I am an all grain brewer. Currently using a gott cooler and 7.5/20g kettles to produce mostly 6 gal batches.

Years ago I invested fairly heavily into partially automating a 3 20g kettle system. I chose the Brewtroller at the time and never got the system off the ground after encountering many bugs etc. The system was mothballed entirely after I found out my wife was pregnant with our 2nd child.

This year, I wanted to revive the project, I fully designed my control panel, punched out the holes for all the indicators, switches, PIDs, LCD etc. then ran into the same issues with the Brewtroller, invested more money to try to solve the problem. The forum responses to my issues were sluggish, quickly thereafter I found out that they were going out of business. Wish they would have communicated that to me before I bought more stuff :evil:

So I am thinking about making the leap over to the BCS-462 :D (a decision I should have made years ago - hindsight is 20/20). Over the next few months, I will be doing a lot of searching, I will likely be asking a few questions regarding this change (ex. are the temp probes compatible between systems?), and looking for anyone who has done the same. If there are any good threads about this please point me in the right direction :)

Cheers!
Max
JonW
Site Admin

Re: New Member Intro

Post by JonW »

Welcome Max! There are several builds here that you can peruse to get ideas for your own and we're always here for questions.