wireless bcs

Suggestions, Problems, Availability, etc. Everything is up for discussion.
Post Reply
jward
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

wireless bcs

Post by jward » Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:36 am

What are you doing for a wireless bcs? Until I can wire my garage my bcs will only be available when I direct connect.
This looks promising:
https://wiki.debian.org/BridgeNetworkCo ... nsProxyArp
Using a router to setup a wifi network just for the bcs would seem to work, but that wifi would be isolated from the Internet.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: wireless bcs

Post by JonW » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:28 am

You don't need a WiFi network just for the BCS - you just need a wireless bridge device. The bridge connects to your existing WiFi as a wireless client and gives you a hard-wired ethernet port to plug your BCS into. If you have any old routers laying around (Linksys, Netgear, etc), many of these are capable of being loaded with a custom firmware that allows bridge configuration. I've used both Tomato and DD-WRT years ago and they worked well.

brahn
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:01 am
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by brahn » Mon Feb 13, 2017 2:38 pm

I'm currently using a TP-Link travel router like this one: http://a.co/8g58T9L

I've also used a Netgear bridge: http://a.co/3wwomqM (This model has been discontinued, I believe.)

Like Jon said, many routers can be configured as a bridge and there are lots of options if you just search for a wifi bridge.

jward
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by jward » Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:51 am

My old netgear is too stupid to do bridging or client mode. The N150 is out of stock, but it looks like the N300 is similar https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TQ ... PDKIKX0DER

Andy Dean
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:11 pm
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by Andy Dean » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:22 am

I used one of these in my panel;

https://www.amazon.com/Vonets-300Mbps-W ... rds=vonets

Cheap and cheerful, I like the look those TP-Link ones though.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: wireless bcs

Post by JonW » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:28 am

jward wrote:My old netgear is too stupid to do bridging or client mode.
I was talking about replacing the stupid firmware on your router with a more capable version.

Look up your old router here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

You might be able to flash it with DD-WRT and you'd be good to go.

jward
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by jward » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:26 pm

It's not on the supported list. Newer versions are. I may flash it anyway. It's as useful as a brick already.

jward
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by jward » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:40 pm

Andy Dean wrote:I used one of these in my panel;

https://www.amazon.com/Vonets-300Mbps-W ... rds=vonets

Cheap and cheerful, I like the look those TP-Link ones though.
I see Vonets makes a cute pocket one too, but $5 is $5. ;)

jward
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:38 pm
Bot?: No

Re: wireless bcs

Post by jward » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:06 pm

So far the Vonets mini300 is working fine. It was a pain to configure, to connect to it, really. One review comment said that it would forget it's configuration when powered off. I hope it's not too bad at that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests