html post method question

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
lostbadgers
Bot?: No

html post method question

Post by lostbadgers »

I will be the first to admit that I can be dense sometimes, but shouldn't this simple html code update ulstate.dat?

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
<title>Sample of HTML Form Submission to BCS462</title>
<H1>Sample Data Submission</H1>
<P>Clicking Submit Query will write predefined data string to the BCS462
<FORM METHOD="POST" ACTION="http://192.168.50.253/ulstate.dat?p=0&s ... ,0,0,0,0,0,">
<P><INPUT TYPE=SUBMIT> <INPUT TYPE=RESET>
</FORM>

I certainly am missing something since I get a connection timeout error but I am not sure what it is. maybe I am oversimplifying the data submission?

Thanks for any help. I am not a developer per se but I do like tinkering.
bbrally

Re: html post method question

Post by bbrally »

I think your problem may be due to same origin policy.

Reference this forum post: http://www.embeddedcontrolconcepts.com/ ... f=11&t=732

Perhaps if enough people request a CORS header addition it could be added on a future update.

To get around this problem I wrote my custom UI in another language than HTML/javascript.
lostbadgers

Post by lostbadgers »

Thanks, bbrally, I will dig into that post. I have a suspicion I will be writing my interface using another program myself - maybe HTML and PERL since there are some PERL routines already out there. I have XAMPP Apache server on my laptop so maybe I will run everything off that. My ultimate goal is to parse the Beersmith XML recipe files to populate and run my system in real time but I am certainly far from that goal at this point.
hoofheartedbrewing

Post by hoofheartedbrewing »

I'm a little late to the party. Posting to the device is allowed. I was able to get it working and will outline how I went about doing it.