Mash Decoction Programming

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
lsmathers
Bot?: No

Mash Decoction Programming

Post by lsmathers »

Hello all, Sorry if this has already been addressed in the forum. I am new to the BCS-460 and I have brewed in manual mode. I am going to do a brew that requires me to perform a decoction. My setup is a HLT/Herms with Mash Tun and Boil Kettle.

Here is the process I am trying to program, but I am not able to wrap my head around it.

S1 - Heat HLT to 110 degree for strike water
S2 - Add strike water to mash, add water to HLT, heat to 95 degrees
S3 - Use HERMS to maintain Mash at 95 degrees for 15 min.
S4 - Increase HLT to 122 degrees, circulate HERMS till mash reaches 122 degrees, maintain for 15 minutes.
S5 - Increase HLT to 135 degrees, circulate HERMS till mash reaches 135 degrees, maintain for 15 minutes.
S6 - Increase HLT to 149 degrees, circulate HERMS till mash reaches 149 degrees, maintain for 60 minutes.
S7 - Increase HLT to 165 degrees, circulate HERMS till mash reaches 165 degrees, maintain for 15 minutes then Mashout

I will then transfer to boil kettle and boil.

Thanks in advance.

Lou
brewstarke

Re: Mash Decoction Programming

Post by brewstarke »

I assume your pulling your decoctions into another vessel for boiling and stirring and the temps in your states are your target temps. Your programming will depend on what you have control over. Do you control the temp in the hlt-herms, a pump (or 2), or both? Time required to add back the decoction mash and stabilize your temp may be an issue, or at least need the time required will need to be determined.