Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by JonW » Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:03 pm

RiverCityBrewer wrote:My question is, now, how do I have my din assert the output (as needed) and also still allow process control to assert the output? I've tried a few iterations but usually end up with the output "sticking" closed.
If you want to tie the DIN to controlling the output in ladder logic, then you cannot also control/override in a process.

If this is the way you want to do it, I suggest wiring the output control using a 3 position On-Off-On switch. This will allow you to not only manually control the output, but also lets you force it to process control or force the output off.

The control is all low voltage on the 5V side and easy to implement.
I did a diagram in this post: http://forum.embeddedcc.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=333

RiverCityBrewer
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:43 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by RiverCityBrewer » Wed Sep 23, 2015 2:08 pm

JonW wrote:
RiverCityBrewer wrote:My question is, now, how do I have my din assert the output (as needed) and also still allow process control to assert the output? I've tried a few iterations but usually end up with the output "sticking" closed.
If you want to tie the DIN to controlling the output in ladder logic, then you cannot also control/override in a process.

If this is the way you want to do it, I suggest wiring the output control using an 3 position On-Off-On switch. This will allow you to not only manually control the output, but also lets you force it to process control or force the output off.

The control is all low voltage on the 5V side and easy to implement.
I did a diagram in this post: http://forum.embeddedcc.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=333

Thanks Jon,

My brain was in software mode instead of simply looking at the wiring... easy fix!

Thanks,

Joe

BrunDog
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:56 am
Bot?: No

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by BrunDog » Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:34 pm

Ladder is not the last and final logic applied before the hardware is actually updated.

If you have a ladder that says Din On -> Pump On, then the reverse will also be true, i.e. Din Off -> Pump off. So you need to add a qualifier in front like Pump Off -> Din On -> Pump On. Make sense?

-BD

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by JonW » Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:42 pm

You sure that will work BrunDog? I think if all conditions are not met, then the pump would stay off (regardless of process control).

BrunDog
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:56 am
Bot?: No

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by BrunDog » Thu Sep 24, 2015 6:56 am

I suck with ladder, but there is certainly a way to do it! Maybe with a logical OR?

-BD

brahn
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:01 am
Bot?: No

Re: Flow Switch Ladder Logic?

Post by brahn » Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:46 am

It depends on exactly what you're trying to do, but this might work. What this does is allow the switch (DIN1) to control the output as long as the process is not asserting the output. This means that the switch will not work to turn the output off if the process is asserting it on. It does allow you to use the switch to manually turn the output on/off if the process isn't running. In general, I'd say Jon's solution is better but I enjoy trying to solve these problems with Ladder Logic. :)
Screenshot 2015-09-24 09.41.42.png
Screenshot 2015-09-24 09.41.42.png (47.03 KiB) Viewed 1726 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest