Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same time

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
Post Reply
Diggy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:15 am
Bot?: No

Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same time

Post by Diggy »

Hello all! I am new here and just built a new BCS-462 based electric brewing system. Originally I had planned to put in a 240v 50a outlet in my Garage to brew with, but I am not going to be moving in a few months so do not want to waste the time and money to do so. However my Garage already has a 240v 30a outlet so I am wanting to try and use that for the time being which means only running 1 electric element at a time or I trip the breaker.

Neither my HLT or RIMS need the elements on 100% all the time, so I want to see if I could use the BCS to only turn on the HLT element if the RIMS element is not on.

I want to run the RIMS normally off of the PID settings and somehow use the following logic for the HLT:

If RIMS_Temp_Probe >= Desired_Mash_Temp
And
If HLT_Temp_Probe < Desire_HLT_Temp
Then use HLT_Element PID controller

I am still playing around with trying to figure this out, possibly with the Ladder Logic? But does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!
Diggy
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by JonW »

You can't use the temperature values in ladder logic. You can easily set it up in ladder logic though that if the RIMS output is on, then turn the HLT output off.
Diggy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:15 am
Bot?: No

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by Diggy »

Ladder logic is new to me also. Did I do this right?

Output 0 is the HLT Electric Element
Output 1 is the Boil Kettle Electric Element
Output 2 is the RIMS Electric Element

Image

I think that:
1. When the RIMS element is turned on, the HLT and Boil elements are turned off; but the HLT and Boil elements act as normal when the RIMS element is turned off?
2. When the Boil element is turned on the HLT element is turned off; but the HLT element act as normal when the RIMS element is turned off?

Is anything in ladder logic always on? or do we have to tell the process that it is on?
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (10.15 KiB) Viewed 13083 times
brahn
Posts: 543
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:01 am
Bot?: No

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by brahn »

I believe that logic will work, but you should definitely test it first. Just disconnect the outputs and try the various scenarios.
Diggy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:15 am
Bot?: No

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by Diggy »

It doesn't work, right now when Output 2 - the Rims element is turned off it automatically turns on Output 0 and 1.

I will have to play with it more.
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by oakbarn »

You could use two states instead of Ladder Loggic (Which would also work, if set correctly).
State 0= RIMS MASH= = RIMS Out PID Controlled On HLT Off
Timer 0 = Mash= Enabled Count Up (This starts your Mash Timer)
Exit 0 = RIMS Temp = Set Temp Exit to State 2


State 1 = RIMS = RIMS Out PID Controlled On HLT Off
Timer 0 = Mash= Enabled Count Up = Continue
Exit 0 = RIMS Temp = Set Temp Exit to State 2
Exit 1= Mash (Timer) => 1:30:00 Exit to State 3

State 2 = HLT = HLT On PID Controlled RIMS Off
Timer 0 = Mash= Enabled Count Up = Continue
Exit 0 = RIMS Temp <= Set Temp Exit to State 1
Exit 1= Mash (Timer) => 1:30:00 Exit to State 3


Your HLT will turn on when the RIMS is Off based on the Exit and set Temp.
If you reach your Mash Time, then you exit the Mash.
While in State 2 Once the RIMS cools down, The State 2 exits back to State 1 and Turns Off the HLT and the RIMS on. State 1 exits to State 2. Enless loops except for Exit 1 which is based on Time.

In Practice, I think that the HLT will not get that much time regardless.
Diggy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:15 am
Bot?: No

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by Diggy »

I think this works using registers instead:
Image

It seems to work on the control panel, I will fill my kettles and test it more.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (13.38 KiB) Viewed 13075 times
Diggy
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:15 am
Bot?: No

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by Diggy »

I ended up dong it a little differently. In the Process I assigned unused Output 6 to PID control based on the HLT Temp Probe
Then in the Ladder Logic I make it so if Output 6 was on and the RIMS output was off to then turn on HLT output.
clearwaterbrewer
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:43 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Clearwater, FL
Contact:

Re: Not running HLK and RIMS Electric Element at the same ti

Post by clearwaterbrewer »

ha... nothing new on here... here is a post from 5 years ago...

http://forum.embeddedcc.com/viewtopic.p ... t=priority
Post Reply