help on pid setup

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
Post Reply
losco70
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:27 am
Bot?: No
Location: Italy

help on pid setup

Post by losco70 » Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:31 am

Merry xmass to every body :)

I want to control with pid a motorized valve that takes about 3 seconds to open/close so I need an output on/off that is at least 3 seconds or more.
What is the right parameters to play with in the pid setup?

Thank you
Luca

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: help on pid setup

Post by oakbarn » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:32 pm

It would depend on how the motor works and is wired. Do it cut off after it opens or closes. Not enough information to give an informed answer.

losco70
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:27 am
Bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: help on pid setup

Post by losco70 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:50 am

I have a cr03 valve wired to the NO and NC contact of the relay board so the signal isn't cut off after the movement, but the valve actuator switch off after the operation is completed.

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: help on pid setup

Post by oakbarn » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:30 am


losco70
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:27 am
Bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: help on pid setup

Post by losco70 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:08 am

Hi Oakbarn,
I have no problem for wiring the valves, in fact I already did it and everything works.
What I need is that one valve act as a heating elements controlled by pid, but as the valve takes about 3 seconds to open (and 3 to close) I would like that the interval on/off managed by the pid last at least 3 seconds on or off.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: help on pid setup

Post by JonW » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:27 am

The PID method of control cycles outputs on/off frequently and is not really suitable for motors. The docs contain information about setting the parameters: http://docs.embeddedcc.com/settings/#pid-settings

You should probably be looking at using Hysteresis mode for a valve.

losco70
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:27 am
Bot?: No
Location: Italy

Re: help on pid setup

Post by losco70 » Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:24 am

JonW wrote:The PID method of control cycles outputs on/off frequently and is not really suitable for motors. The docs contain information about setting the parameters: http://docs.embeddedcc.com/settings/#pid-settings

You should probably be looking at using Hysteresis mode for a valve.

Thank you JonW, I will run some test
happy new year to everybody :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest