HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Describe your system and processes, and post your config file.
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by JonW »

You could always use a dynamic DNS service and point the Lambda function to that name instead of an IP. For a while they weren't letting you select V2, so good you were able to do so. If I get time one of these days, I'll update it for V3. Not really sure how many people actually use it.
TheAleMaster
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:53 pm
Bot?: No

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by TheAleMaster »

Got the dynamic DNS rolling and slapping a cron job on my RaspberryPi to keep it updated.

I found these links that detail the difference between payload v2 and v3. I may give it a go in the next couple of weeks.

https://developer.amazon.com/docs/smart ... code-to-v3
https://developer.amazon.com/blogs/alex ... -skill-api
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by oakbarn »

I use it. It works great. I am going to look into a dynamic DNS as they keep changing my Public IP. Looks like some significant code changes in V3 as to how it works. Without knowing much, it looks like V3 would handle setpoints much better than V2.

I am still on V2
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by JonW »

V3 is much better for a lot of things. I use it already for home automation but I haven't had time to re-do the BCS control to be compatible.

I'm actually thinking of writing a plugin for an open source home control program called OpenHAB. Having the BCS tied to that would give BCS users customizable mobile control screens, plus Alexa and Siri integration.
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by oakbarn »

Until you get the openHAB code, I am hoping to have two states "turned on" with the same command.

I modified JonW code (mostly by creating variables) so that I can use Alexa to jump to a different State with the Voice command. It works very well.

The following code jumps to my “Obtain Strike” State in my “Mash” Process.


var p1State1 = "State Obtain Strike";
var p1State1DESC = "Process 1 Mash State 1 Obtain Strike";

{
"applianceId": "CUSTOM_Process_1_State_1",
"friendlyName": p1State1,
"friendlyDescription": p1State1DESC,
"manufacturerName": "Embedded Control Concepts",
"modelName": "BCS",
"version": "2",
"isReachable": true,
"additionalApplianceDetails": {
"extraDetail1": "",
"extraDetail2": "",
"extraDetail3": "/api/process/1",
"extraDetail4": JSON.stringify({"current_state": 1})
},
"actions": [
"turnOn"
]
},


What I want to do is also “turn on” Process 0 State 2 with the same command at the same time:

“Alexa, Turn On State Obtain Strike”


I know this code might work, but how do I integrate it into the above code. I know just enough Java Script to be dangerous.
{
"extraDetail3": "/api/process/0",
"extraDetail4": JSON.stringify({"current_state": 2)
},
"actions": [
"turnOn"
]

My desired code would cause both My “Brew Day” Process 0 and “Mash” Process to jump to different state simultaneously.

I do that now by using a DIN connected to a Push Button and use that as an Exit for both the States I want to Exit.
Moad
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:34 am
Bot?: No

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by Moad »

this is fantastic!

thanks JonW and Oakbarn, was a bit stuck on account linking but got there with the guide.

would love to buy you guys a shout if youd accept a small donation for your efforts
User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 846
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by oakbarn »

Nothing better than "Alexa, Turn on Brew Kettle Burner".

I use it to turn and off lots. I rarely touch the computer on a Brew Day now.
1. Water Valve "Alexa, Turn on Firehose". "Alexa, Turn Off Firehose". Great when cleaning by myself
2. Burners: "Alexa, Turn on Brew Kettle Burner". "Alexa, Turn Off Brew Kettle Burner" We have High Pressure and I want to make sure they light visually.
3. Pumps "Alexa, Turn on Blue Pump". "Alexa, Turn Off Blue Pump".
4. Processes "Alexa, Turn on Water Process".
5. Change States in a Process "Alexa, Turn on Start Mash".
6. Turn off the Alarm ("Alexa, Turn off Hal nine thousand.")

I did find that I had to change a few commands because Alexa was confused by my garbled pronunciation. I do find you have to try to speak clearly.
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1726
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by JonW »

I was also setting temperatures with mine. Much like the recipe editor writes it to the config, I had Alexa code doing that. I could say "Alexa, set strike water temperature to 160" or "Alexa, set mash temperature to 152". The novelty wore off and I haven't used it in a while.
berrywise
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:46 am
Bot?: No

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by berrywise »

Hey all,

Curious if anyone has recently tried to configure this? Following the instructions that Oakbarn was ever so kind to create are unfortunately dated enough (Amazon/AWS have redesigned their website) that I haven't been able to do it myself.
User avatar
AndrewsBrewing
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 10:06 am
Bot?: No
Contact:

Re: HowTo: Voice control of BCS with Amazon Alexa

Post by AndrewsBrewing »

Put me down as interested too. Tired of taking my gloves off a hundred times on brew day to select on the touch screen
Post Reply