Keyence Process Sensors

Suggestions, Problems, Availability, etc. Everything is up for discussion.
Post Reply
mmcconkey
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:46 pm
Bot?: No

Keyence Process Sensors

Post by mmcconkey » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:23 pm

Hi. I am looking to implement a Keyence FD-Q flow meter to measure strike water and sparge water quantities from the HLT to the MT. The FD-Q has a 24v output signal when a preset volume of water passes through the device. Is there a way to have my BCS-462 use this 24v input? I would like to have a notification on the screen that the volume has been reached and then have it shut down the transfer pump.

Thanks for your input in advance.

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by oakbarn » Tue Apr 30, 2019 5:35 pm

You could use a Relay board or Resistors to regulate the voltage to 5 v+ (BCS 460/2) or 12 v+ (BCS 482). I would use a relay board. You could then signal a DIN or an Output.

You could use a buck transformer as well. This one would work for both a BCS 460/2 or 482 as it can change 24v to both 5v and 12 v.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Step-Down-Powe ... Sw-Y9a1Er3

mmcconkey
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:46 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by mmcconkey » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:43 pm

Thanks for the response. Would I use one like this?

https://www.amazon.com/Electronics-Salo ... 24&sr=8-13

What if I want use an analog input (4-20ma)?

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by oakbarn » Wed May 01, 2019 8:51 am

4-20 ma is vaporware on the BCS. Would be nice but you only have high input or output control with a BCS. I use DINs to control the flow of the processes. From your description, it seems this is similar to what a float switch, just based on flow. I have had success by
Measuring “time” for volume as long as you know the flow rate .

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by oakbarn » Wed May 01, 2019 9:00 am

That relay might work. You have 3 voltages when using a relay. The first is the operating voltage of the relay. This one is 24 because. That is the PowerPoint cause the relay to switch. The next is the trigger voltage. This can be a range but 3-5 vdc triggers are most common. The last is the rating of the relay. Some are designed for AC and some for DC. There is a max voltage maximum voltage and amperage for the relay.

This one is 24 vdc operating voltage meaning you need to supply 24 vdc to the VCC pin as well as a ground. You can also find 12 and 5 volt ones.

Using a buck transformer would be easier

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by oakbarn » Wed May 01, 2019 9:03 am

Just looked at specs again and that one has both operating voltage and trigger of 24 vdc. You would still need to provide the 5 vdc (BCS 460/462) or 12 Vic (BCS 482)

mmcconkey
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:46 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by mmcconkey » Wed May 01, 2019 9:50 am

So, if I use the 24vdc version of this relay, in the schematic I would connect:
1. +24vdc to VCC and -24vdc to GND (power in) from the power supply
2. The IN A (input) would be the +24vdc signal from the flow meter. The -24vdc, COM from the flow meter and the Input GND would be tied to a common point.
3. I would connect +5vdc to the NO1 and my BCS-462 DIN to the C1 (relay). The -5vdc from the power supply and the ground on the BCS would be tied to a common point.

I already have a 5vdc power supply and would need a 24vdc power supply for the flow meter too. Do you think this would work? I am looking at using a Keyence FD-Q flow meter, btw.

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by oakbarn » Wed May 01, 2019 10:43 am

If using a DIN no BCS Ground is needed.

24 vdc + to VCC
24 vdc - to GND

24vdc Trigger to in (Trigger). From your flow thing


5 vdc + to common out and NO to DIN. When relay is activated, it allows 5 vdc + to go to pull down resistor inside the BCS. Make that DIN. One shot. You will need a method ( toggle switch maybe) to reset the flow device. I have not looked at it so I may be wtong

mmcconkey
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:46 pm
Bot?: No

Re: Keyence Process Sensors

Post by mmcconkey » Thu May 02, 2019 6:22 am

Thanks!

-MM

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests