BCS Not Connecting Issue

Get help and insight.
Post Reply
mjap52
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:47 am
Bot?: No

BCS Not Connecting Issue

Post by mjap52 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:48 am

Hi All,

Today was supposed to be my first brew day on my new EBrewsupply BCS 482 Unit. This morning, I was making some tweaks to the processes/stages, and then realized I had lost connection to the BCS. This happened when I was upstairs making adjustments (nothing to the IP/connection settings) on my computer and not near the BCS unit in the basement.

Hoping for some suggestions in how to regain access. So far my troubleshooting steps have been:

1. Power cycle unit - no response after 5 min.
2. Power cycle router & unit.
3. Check BCS Finder to see if it was assigned a new IP.
4. Check router settings (my BCS address on the router says inactive).
5. Try to ping the unit with the router - 100% packet loss.

Some things to note: the ethernet indicator light on the BCS unit is flashing yellow, which I believe is good.
The lights on the other side of the BCS unit are red. Not sure what that means - I can't really see what the lights refer to due to the layout of the panel.


Any ideas or troubleshooting tips?

Thanks!

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1606
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: BCS Not Connecting Issue

Post by JonW » Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:27 am

You'll need to push and hold the reset button for more than 10 seconds, then power cycle. After that, you'll need to restore from backup as it will be cleared.

User avatar
oakbarn
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:28 pm
Bot?: No
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: BCS Not Connecting Issue

Post by oakbarn » Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:42 pm

This is typical of a 482 being restored with a 462 backup. I can repeat this and it is an issue. :twisted: The only solution I have found is to build from scratch in a 482.

I tried this many times and when I "tweaked" a Process: Lost Connection and all Red Lights on.


Reset to defaults: Hold Reset Button down 15 seconds (I know 10 is good but 9.99 is not). You may have to do it more than once.

Program the BCS manually without a backup. :ugeek:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests