BCS-460 IP not working for login

Suggestions, Problems, Availability, etc. Everything is up for discussion.
Post Reply
zpashley
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:18 am
Bot?: No

BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by zpashley » Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:22 am

Have been accessing BCS controls via IP address for 5 months now, this morning, that IP didn't work. All indicators of connectivity are indicating inside the panel, but cannot access the control screen. Previously working IP was 10.1.10.133. Tried plugging in IP from config and all it does it bring me to my router's screen. Any clues on what gives?

User avatar
Broph
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:19 am
Bot?: No
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by Broph » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:55 am

Did you reserve that IP address in your router using the MAC address of your BCS-460?
Thomas Brophy
AleForce Homebrewery

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by JonW » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:31 am

Per Broph's post above, sounds like maybe your IP changed if you didn't have a reservation in the router.

Have you run the BCS locator?

zpashley
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:18 am
Bot?: No

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by zpashley » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:01 pm

I ran the BCS locator on PC and nothing showed. The IP address for the router it's connected to definitely changed, but I cant seem to find what the BCS's new IP address is. I found the router's IP on config, and on my ISP's route login page, but when I enter it into browser, it brings me to router page, not BCS screen.

RandR+
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:26 am
Bot?: No

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by RandR+ » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:55 am

Even if you have a reserved IP setup in the router, if the router IP changes so do the first 3 octets of the reserved IP. I recommend checking the router for attached devices (enter IP in browser, login, there should be an option for devices) and see if you can find the BCS mac address. That should give you the IP.

You may need to power off the BCS and power on for it to go through DHCP to get a new IP if you haven't done that yet.

User avatar
Broph
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:19 am
Bot?: No
Location: Illinois
Contact:

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by Broph » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:59 am

1. Take a picture or write down the MAC Address that is on your BCS label, and turn the BCS on.
2. Login into your router, locate the DHCP Reservations section. Refer to your Router's user manual on where to locate and how to use it.
3. Either enter the MAC address of the BCS or locate it in the the DHCP List of available connections.Click ok, save,apply - whatever your router needs to accept the entry.
4. You may need to power your BCS down and back on to get the reserved address you gave it in the Router's DHCP Reservations configuration screen.
Thomas Brophy
AleForce Homebrewery

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: BCS-460 IP not working for login

Post by JonW » Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:14 pm

Have you restarted the BCS? It sounds like you had router configuration changes and the BCS may still be holding the old IP address/subnet that could possibly be invalid now. A power cycle of the BCS will force it to request a new DHCP address.

Do you know what your previous subnet addressing was versus what it is now?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest