Din to activate a pause

Things to come.
Post Reply
User avatar
bbrally
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:59 am
Bot?: No
Location: Vancouver, BC or NST, Thailand
Contact:

Din to activate a pause

Post by bbrally » Sun Dec 08, 2019 5:40 pm

I'm wiring a control panel for a buddy who does not want to use any interface other than the control panel.

But he would like a pause button. I don't believe there's anyway to program a pause from a din.

Is this something that could be added to a future update?

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1714
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Din to activate a pause

Post by JonW » Mon Dec 09, 2019 6:25 pm

Do you mean to actually pause the running process? e.g. halt all programmed activity for that process, then resume? Or, do you mean to add a pause before another state? Both can be accomplished and triggered via a button push. Give a little more background on the type and use of the pause and lets see if we can think through some ladder logic and/or states to accomplish what's needed.

User avatar
bbrally
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:59 am
Bot?: No
Location: Vancouver, BC or NST, Thailand
Contact:

Re: Din to activate a pause

Post by bbrally » Tue Dec 10, 2019 12:58 pm

I want the suspend the timer(s) and close all outputs, just as the "pause" button on the BCS interface does. Pressing the "resume" button then continues the timers(s) and opens the relevant outputs of the state the pause took place in.

User avatar
JonW
Site Admin
Posts: 1714
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:51 am
Bot?: No
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Din to activate a pause

Post by JonW » Tue Dec 10, 2019 7:48 pm

Yeah, if you're looking for a 100% pause and resume from anywhere in the process like the UI does, that's not possible from a DIN. If it was only from a main state of the process, you could jump to another state to stop everything, then return back to the previous state when the DIN triggers again.

There is one way I could think of to do this, but it would require an extra piece like a Rpi. You could use DIN's on a RPi and send BCS API commands in response to the triggers. There's a whole lotta stuff you could do with that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests